Sunday, December 4, 2022
HomeSportsEngland World Cup squad numbers: Official shirt numbers and 2022 team picture...

England World Cup squad numbers: Official shirt numbers and 2022 team picture for Qatar

England have introduced their squad numbers for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

The official squad photograph has additionally been launched, exhibiting the 26 gamers and supervisor Gareth Southgate sporting outfits made by the staff’s official tailor, Marks and Spencer.

You are reading: England World Cup squad numbers: Official shirt numbers and 2022 team picture for Qatar

The event kicks off on Sunday, with the hosts taking up Ecuador. England’s opening fixture towards Iran shall be performed the next day.

Prince William, who’s president of the FA, made a shock go to to the St George’s Park coaching floor to hitch Southgate in revealing the numbers to the gamers.

The Prince of Wales informed the squad: “What you and Gareth have constructed right here is one thing particular, that’s clear to see.

“Play for one another, help one another, get pleasure from it, and I’m positive you’ll go far.”

Southgate stated: “It was a pleasant second to be with the group and Prince William, who has been an enormous supporter of ours. I understand how passionate the gamers are about their nation and it was nice to see what it meant to every of them as they got here ahead. As workers and gamers, we’re all so privileged to characterize England and we’re excited to see what’s potential collectively. We wish to make the followers proud once more.”

England World Cup squad numbers

  1. Jordan Pickford
  2. Kyle Walker
  3. Luke Shaw
  4. Declan Rice
  5. John Stones
  6. Harry Maguire
  7. Jack Grealish
  8. Jordan Henderson
  9. Harry Kane
  10. Raheem Sterling
  11. Marcus Rashford
  12. Kieran Trippier
  13. Nick Pope
  14. Kalvin Phillips
  15. Eric Dier
  16. Conor Coady
  17. Bukayo Saka
  18. Trent Alexander-Arnold
  19. Mason Mount
  20. Phil Foden
  21. Ben White
  22. Jude Bellingham
  23. Aaron Ramsdale
  24. Callum Wilson
  25. James Maddison
  26. Conor Gallagher

Readmore : Who will buy Man Utd? Fans beware, the next owners could be even worse than the Glazers

Captain Harry Kane will as soon as once more put on the No 9 shirt. Kane will be a part of an illustrious membership of six gamers to have captained England at multiple males’s World Cup when he wears the armband in Qatar. Billy Wright, Bobby Moore, Bryan Robson, David Beckham and Steven Gerrard have all beforehand had the honour of being skipper a minimum of twice.

Callum Wilson, James Maddison and Conor Gallagher will put on No 24, 25 and 26 respectively. They’re all representing England at a serious event for the primary time.

That is additionally the primary time these numbers shall be seen on the World Cup. Squads had been beforehand restricted to 23, however Fifa opted to extend them to 26 for this event.

When does the World Cup begin?

The opening World Cup fixture shall be on Sunday 20 November, with Qatar taking up Ecuador at 4pm GMT.

This Group A match is the one sport being performed on the opening day.

Readmore : Eddie Jones has been telling England players to bring joy to rugby – a sport ‘on its arse’

The match, which is being performed at Al Bayt Stadium, shall be preceded by the opening ceremony.

When are England and Wales taking part in?

England’s first sport comes on day two of the event – they tackle Iran in a Group B fixture at 1pm on Monday 21 November.

Wales are in the identical group as England, so will play on the identical day. They face the USA at 7pm.

Wales’ second sport is towards Iran at 10am on Friday 25 November, earlier than England play the USA at 7pm.

England and Wales face one another of their closing group sport on Tuesday 29 November at 7pm.

When are the knockout levels?

The knockout levels will start on Saturday 3 December, with the spherical of 16. There shall be two fixtures every day, with the spherical concluding on Tuesday 6 December.

The quarter-finals shall be on Friday 9 and Saturday 10 December, earlier than the semi-finals on Tuesday 13 and Wednesday 14 December, all at 7pm.

The World Cup closing shall be performed on Sunday 18 December at 3pm, with the third place play-off the day prior on the similar time.


Latest Articles

Related Posts